History of Coorg

The early history of Coorg saw empires like the Kadambas, Ganga dynasty, Cholas, Hoysalas, Vijaynagara and local chieftains like Nayaks and Palegars. The Haleri kings united Coorg under the name of Kodagu. After this it came under the British rule.

When India became independent in 1947, Kodagu (Coorg) also became a free land.  In 1950 as per the new Indian Constitution, Coorg became a state. In 1956 a state reorganization took place. Coorg was merged with Karnataka and became a district in Karnataka, which it remains till today. It has 3 taluks or districts, Madikeri, Somvarpet and Virajpet. Madikeri is also the district headquarters of Coorg.


About Coorg | The Resort | Golf | Activities | How to Reach | Rates | Photo Gallery